The Seven Days of Lennie (Day 3)

Lennie-Bird (based on How High The Moon) is the most recent Tristano composition I’ve added to the repertoire.  I’ve never really been a huge fan of playing How High The Moon (although I can’t help loving this version).  But hearing Lennie’s line totally shed new light on it for me.  My favorite version is from the Half Note with Lee and Warne in 1959.  This is a somewhat insane challenge for horn players as there is very little opportunity to breath.  I love the tasteful places where Lee and Warne stop to breath.

Transcription: Lennie Bird

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

